Women in Housing Awards – Celebrating the achievements of women in the sector

Published on 7th December 2017

Women in Housing Awards – Celebrating the achievements of women in the sector

WISH has once again given its support to the Women in Housing Awards, which highlights and celebrates the achievements of women working across the UK housing sector. Now in its 5th year, it has grown to become one of the most important occasions in the housing calendar. It delivers a day-long conference prior to the awards ceremony and is delivered by Connect In Events.

WISH is proud to have been a sponsor of the event since its inception.

An independent panel of judges, including Nicola Dibb, WISH Founder and Director of Nicola Dibb Associates Limited, faced the tough task of choosing the winners from over 250 nominations.

The ceremony at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate was hosted by radio presenter and producer at BBC Leeds, Liz Green, and the guest speaker was Shappi Khorsandi, who is currently appearing in reality TV show I’m a Celebrity Get Me out of Here on ITV.

During the ceremony over £2,000 was raised for charity Girls Out Loud, which runs a series of programmes to help raise the aspirations and improve the self-esteem of teenage girls.

“The Women in Housing Awards continues to be an important showcase for highlighting the accomplishments of women in the sector and we at WISH are proud to give our ongoing support to Connect In Events,” said Nicola.

“The awards and conference have fast become the centrepiece of our year, offering a great opportunity to network and keep up to date with the latest issues affecting the industry and to celebrate the good work that goes on every day.

“As usual, this year was a fantastic event and a great time was had by all. Well done to all winners and nominees.”



The 2017 Women in Housing Award winners are:


Most Effective Project in Improving the Lives of Women or Communities Award

1) Domestic Violence and Abuse Refuge, Minerva House – Barnet Homes

2) Grants and Social Value Innovation – Severn Vale Housing Society

3) Never Too Late – Churches Housing Association of Dudley and District (CHADD)

4) RENEW Project – Stonewater Housing Association

5) Tradeswomen into Maintenance Project – Mears Group & Steering Group

6) Young Parents Pathway – Places for People Living +

WINNER: Young Parents Pathway – Places for People Living +


Excellence in Career Development Award

1) Inspiring Women to Inspire Others – WISH North Wales

2) The Directions Employment Service – First Choice Homes Oldham

3) Women Lead the Board Programme – Central Consultancy & Training

WINNER: The Directions Employment Service – First Choice Homes Oldham


Best Marketing or Promotional Campaign – New Homes Sales or Corporate Award

1) Affordable Housing Options: When a Property Company and Lifestyle Magazine Combine Forces – Dot Dot Dot Property

2) #BeBoldForChange – Peabody Group

3) Be Brave. Be Awesome. Be Social: Using Social Media to Sell Homes – Aster Group

4) Opening Doors to Shared Ownership – Equity Housing Group

WINNER: Be Brave. Be Awesome. Be Social: Using Social Media to Sell Homes – Aster Group


Young Achiever – Housing Community Development Award

1) Abigail Murphy – Bolton at Home

2) Kayleigh Juliffe – Rooftop Housing Group

3) Mari Chisholm – Mount Anvil

4) Natalie Wright – Shepherds Bush Housing Association

5) Naomi Nobes – Rooftop Housing Group

6) Sophie Drury – Mace Group

WINNER: Sophie Drury – Mace Group


Communications Professional of the Year Award

1) Bree Sims – Poplar HARCA

2) Derya Filiz – Anchor

3) Samantha Wait – Swan Housing Association

WINNER: Derya Feliz – Anchor


Inspirational Male Role Model Award

1) Asif Choudry – Resource & Comms Hero

2) Gary Josey – Bournemouth Borough Council

3) Oliver Herrmann – Wolverampton Homes

WINNER: Gary Josey – Bournemouth Borough Council


Best Consultant Award

1) Helen Scurr – Ark Consultancy Ltd

2) Jane Pilkington – MAP Chartered Surveyors

3) Jenny Neville – Pennington Choices

4) Lynn Bekir – Faithorn Farrell Timms LLP

5) Melanie Dirom – Croftons Solicitors

WINNER: Lynn Bekir – Faithorn Farrell Timms LLP


Best Apprentice/Trainee Award 

1) Bethany Woodroofe – WM Homes

2) Charlotte Howarth-Earlam – Irwell Valley Housing Association

3) Chloe Black – Plus Dane Housing

4) Chloe Harper – Keepmoat Homes

5) Elise Mell – Fortem

6) Karline Symes – Incommunities Housing Group

7) Kennedie Brant – Black Country Housing Group

8) Natalie Jones – Taff Housing Association

9) Shannan Melaugh – L&Q

WINNER: Natalie Jones – Taff Housing Association


Best Community Leader/Unsung Hero Award

1) Angela O’Brien – Wates Living Space

2) Cath Kinson – Newydd Housing Association

3) Diane Chandler – Edgefield Green (Housing Plus Group)

4) Janet Mulcock – Rhondda Housing Association

5) Mary Potts – Kirklees Neighbourhood Housing

6) Nicola Flett – Yorkshire Housing

7) Safia Jama – Tower Hamlets Homes

8) Tessa Dugmore – Poplar HARCA


Leading Mentor/Coach Award

1) Emma Foster – Mount Anvil

2) Sophie Bryan – C&C (Central & Cecil Housing Trust)

3) Trudi Halliday – Hastoe Housing Association

4) Tina Wood – Wolverhampton Homes

WINNER: Tina Wood – Wolverhampton Homes


Most Effective Board Member Award

1) Lyn Bond – Newydd Housing Association

2) Melba Wilson OBE – Advance

3) Tracy Woods – Bolton at Home

WINNER: Tracy Woods –Bolton at Home


Exemplary Housing Professional Award

1) Carmel Chambers – Stockport Homes Group

2) Jen Barfoot – Homes In Sedgemoor

3) Kerrie Pryde – New Charter Group

4) Morenike Ajayi – Origin Housing

5) Rachel Honey-Jones – Newydd Housing Association

6) Sarah Eggenhuizen – Origin Housing

7) Wendy Stewart – RBH

WINNER: Jen Barfoot – Homes In Sedgemoor


Landmark Achievement Award

1) Angela Salami – One Manchester

2) Di Hart – L&Q

3) Diane Bellinger – Community Gateway

4) Jane Nelson – Mears Group

5) Jill Haley – Byker Community Trust

6) Paula Taylor – Liverpool Housing Trust

WINNER: Diane Bellinger – Community Gateway Association